Registration Districts

When civil registration was introduced in 1837, the town of Sheffield was divided into registration districts based upon the two poor law unions of Sheffield and Ecclesall Bierlow. These in turn were based upon township boundaries within the parish of Sheffield. The Sheffield Registration district comprised of the townships of Sheffield, Attercliffe and Brightside, together with the parish of Handsworth. The Ecclesall Bierlow registration district comprised of the townships of Ecclesall, Upper and Nether Hallam, together with the parishes of Norton, Dore and the liberty of Beauchief.

As new parishes were created they often straddled the registration district boundaries. The parishes of St Phillip, St Mary’s Bramhall Lane and Christ Church, Heeley were more or less split in two by the registration district boundaries. Thus a birth could be registered in Sheffield, but the baptism take place at a church in Ecclesall Bierlow and visa versa. For a marriage, the location of the church was all-important and the problem does not arise. The two registration districts were united in 1935.

Parishes in the Sheffield Registration District

Central Area

St Peter & St Paul (Cathedral), St Paul, St James, St Jude – Moorfields, St Anne – Hoyle Street, St Stephen, St George
St Philip, St John – Park, St Luke – Dyers Hill, St Mary – Bramhall Lane, St Simon – Eyre Street

Outer area

St Michael & All Angels, Holy Trinity – Wicker, Christ Church – Pitsmoor, St Cuthbert- Firvale, St Hilda – Shiregreen
St Thomas – Brightside, St Clement – Newhall, St Thomas – Wincobank, St Margaret – Brightside, St Bartholomew – Carbrook
St Alban – Darnall, Christ Church – Attercliffe, Emmanuel – Attercliffe, Holy Trinity – Darnall, St Aidan – Manor, St Swithun – Manor
St Mary – Handsworth, St James – Woodhouse, Christ Church – Gleadless

Parishes in the Ecclesall Bierlow Registration District

Central Area

St Matthew – Carver Street, St Jude, Eldon Street, St Silas, Gilcar, St Matthias, Summerfield Street

Outer Area

St John – Owlerton, St Bartholomew – Langsett Road, St Mary – Walkley, St Nathanael – Crookesmoor, St Timothy – Crookes
St Thomas – Crookes, St John – Ranmoor, Christ Church – Fulwood, St Mark – Broomhill, St Augustine – Endcliffe
All Saints – Ecclesall, St Andrew – Sharrow, St Barnabas – Highfield, St Peter – Abbeydale, St John – Abbeydale
St Oswald – Millhouses, Holy Trinity – Millhouses, Christ Church – Dore, All Saints – Totley, Beauchief Abbey Chapel
St Chad – Norton Woodseats, St James – Norton, St Paul – Norton Lees, Christ Church – Heeley